Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Recently I have been doing a lot of thinking about the things that are important to me. When I was setting up my business I kept thinking about the things in life that bring me the most joy. To run a business I would have to do what I love and what I love is history and sharing history with others. My love for history is one that has been nurtured since I was a child, history and english were always my favourite subjects at school and the ones I spent the most time at. As a child I as lucky enough to be brought to visit heritage sites around Ireland and experience the wealth of history that my home country has on offer. I think that it is vital that we encourage the youth of today to learn about their heritage and culture as it will help to inform them about where we have come from and possibly even inspire them to live better lives. When I was at school I always looked forward to history class learning about an ancient civilisation or person of prominence. I found myself getting immersed in the different time periods and imagining what life would have been like then. It has even been the inspiration behind much of my writing and reading as I tend to be drawn to historical fiction.   

This has led me on to thinking about how history is now taught in schools and the importance or lack of that is placed on it. I feel that learning about history is an intrinsic part of forming character and morals. It helps to inform, teach and guide us as we grow. One of the most worrying things that I have heard in recent times is the new curriculum which has demoted history from a compulsory subject for students in first year to one that they have to chose to do. I fear that this will have huge repercussions for the future of our youth and the way in which they receive information about history. One of my fears is that it will filter down through people who may have a biased view on certain aspects of our history and this may create prejudice and unjust feelings towards members of society. Having history as an optional subject deprives children of the opportunity to develop a love for history or even an understanding of what history is and the importance of it. 

As a result of this, I have decided to write a series of blogs relating to the history curriculum and the different ways it can be taught in schools. I will be dealing with the curriculum from primary school through to secondary school. On top of this I will be aiming to create different workshops or ideas to try to make history more fun and accessible. For too long history has been deemed the field of the elite and I think in order to make history a more popular subject this notion needs to be combated. Hopefully history will continue to be significant in schools and continue to inspire the youth of the world like it did for me. 

