Tags

, , , , , , ,

Apologies about my recent absence from blogging. I have been having the busiest few weeks and have had barely anytime to sleep let alone blog. The reason for my extreme busyness is that I have recently set myself up as a freelance heritage consultant and have been undertaking a business course and also working on a collection of projects. This has been a hugely exciting time and has at present pretty much taken over my life.

I have been working in the heritage sector for a few years now on internships and placements and I slowly came to realise that in order to be able to do the job I love and in the country I am from that I would have to carve out my own niche and take all the opportunities that were presented to me. In the current climate in Ireland it is pretty much impossible to secure a permanent post in a heritage organisation or museum. Most of these institutions fall under the remit of the public sector and with the embargo on hiring it means that job opportunities are few and far between.

However this economic factor has created a gap in the sector, in that museums are now in a position where in order to have people working on projects that have the experience and expertise that is needed they have to hire freelance consultants. From my time in the sector I could see that this was an area that I could branch into. I have the qualifications, experience and drive to work on my own so I thought that it was the right time to go for it.

So from this has been born Wilson Higgins Heritage Consultancy. I will be offering my services to heritage organisations and museums across Ireland and fingers crossed also overseas. I have been very lucky in that I was immediately offered work on Cavan County Museum‘s Peace III funded project Connecting People, Places and Heritage and have been running that project for the last two months. This project is a cross border initiative and on top of running the project I have also been facilitating educational workshops on it as well. I will discuss this project in a follow up blog.

The interest in my business has been very positive since I began with a heritage publication already in the works as well. At present my website is being created and I hope to have it up and running in the next few weeks. It is a very exciting time for me at the moment and I am keeping everything crossed that Wilson Higgins Heritage Consultancy is a huge success. I will be blogging about all my upcoming work and look forward to any feedback on it.

So for now I will leave you with my fabulous logo that was created by the very talented Konik Art Studio gang. Many thanks again for your masterful work.

5.logo gif

